Ship leasing options are reinvigorating Hong Kong’s ship finance market

Hong Kong is attracting high value-added maritime services to the territory. But why do such service companies choose Hong Kong?

CSSC (Hong Kong) Shipping Company Limited (CSSC Shipping) was listed in Hong Kong in June 2019. With strong maritime expertise and industrial background, the Company focuses on the provision of ship and marine equipment leasing services and has developed close cooperation with business partners in 13 countries and regions worldwide.

In early 2020, the Company issued US$400m bonds due 2025 and US$400m bonds due 2030, taking the lead in breaking through the siege during the market downturn. It’s the first time that a Greater China ship leasing company issued two kinds of bonds and created a 5 and 10-year price curve. The Company has achieved the largest narrowing of price guidelines since the beginning of 2020 and acquired an outstanding performance of eight times over-subscription.

With Hong Kong’s various advantages in global shipping, the company has always adhered to the strategic mission of combining industry with finance and providing services for main businesses, stuck to the high-quality development route of specialization, marketization and internationalization, and strived to build the company into the world’s top ship leasing company.

Hong Kong’s role as a major shipping centre, was a natural lure to the services that CSSC Shipping provides.

The company’s focus on ship and marine equipment leasing business and close cooperation with customers around the world has led to the company’s deciding Hong Kong would be an appropriate place to develop shipping related business globally. 

Initially attracted to Hong Kong’s highly developed financial services industry, the company found the regulatory environment was relatively superior to that of the Mainland.

After considering the company’s location options, including free trade zones in China, CSSC Shipping concluded that Hong Kong is excellent in supporting infrastructure, business environment, legal environment, expert research resources and high-end talents.

Tax benefits
CSSC Shipping, in choosing Hong Kong, shares the opinion of other mainland Chinese companies that have set up business here as settlement and financial platforms, using Hong Kong’s relatively advantageous financing arrangements to reduce costs.

Hong Kong’s low tax rate and simple tax system are very attractive to international investors. And for ship leasing companies doing business in Hong Kong, corporate tax has, in some instances, become a thing of the past. The amendments to the Inland Revenue Ordinance in 2020 have introduced zero rate profits tax for ship lessors and seen profits tax slashed by 50% for ship leasing managers.

CSSC Shipping has been impressed by the Hong Kong Government’s proactive nurturing of a maritime ecosystem through the organizing of get-together events such as Hong Kong Maritime Week. This provided the company with opportunities to enthusiastically participate in such events, many of which are sponsored by Invest Hong Kong. Invest Hong Kong continues to regularly reach out to the company for aftercare visits to share views about the industry and related policies as well as getting an update on the company’s developments.

Profiting from a rapidly evolving market
CSSC (Hong Kong) Shipping is now getting the measure of a rapidly evolving maritime sector that is coming to terms with strict environmental regulations and the impact of COVID-19.

While the maritime and shipbuilding industries remain in the doldrums, the leasing company continues to implement counter-cyclical investment management measures so as to provide leasing services to leading partners in various segments of the industry, thereby establishing long-term strategic cooperation.

At the beginning of 2020, during the outbreak of COVID-19, the demand for economic and environmentally friendly vessels and clean energy equipment for the maritime industry remained active. Meanwhile, promising prospects and opportunities in many market segments of the maritime industry continued to emerge.

The Covid-19 epidemic has accelerated the process of shipping and port digitization, and provided a basis for the port and shipping industry to improve efficiency and reduce costs.

Although the epidemic had an impact on the port and shipping industry, it also accelerated the process of digital development of ship finance. The structural changes in the shipping industry in the future are mainly affected by three major factors.

First, the in-depth advancement of digitalization that will promote the development of ship finance, intelligence and equipment networking.

Second, the adjustment of global trade flow patterns is manifested by the slowdown in the growth of long-distance east-west lines, while the growth of routes within the region has accelerated. 

Finally, there is the development of green and low-carbon trends, which will promote innovation in shipping energy, ship design and route network organization.

Lei Fanpei, chairman of China Shipbuilding Corporation, expressed the hope that CSSC (Hong Kong) Shipping Co Ltd will take this opportunity to continue to innovate and repay the trust and love of investors with more outstanding results. First, we must continue to promote the in-depth integration of "industry, finance, and technology", drive the development of the ship and offshore industry, provide global customers with more high-quality and efficient products and services, and build the company into a dazzling star in Hong Kong. 

Further Reading
CSSC.pdf (0.2MB)
(Please click here to download Acrobat Reader)

船舶租賃助力重振香港船舶融資市場

香港致力吸引高增值海運服務企業來港開業。這些企業又因何選擇香港呢?

2019年6月,中國船舶(香港)航運租賃有限公司(下稱「中船租賃」)在香港上市。憑藉強大的海事專長和行業背景,中船租賃專注提供船舶與海洋工程設備租賃業務,與全球13個國家和地區的商業夥伴建立了緊密的合作關係。

在2020年初,中船租賃宣佈發行2025年到期的4億美元有擔保債券及2030年到期的4億美元有擔保債券,在市場低迷時期率先「突破圍城」。這是首次由大中華區航運租賃公司發行兩種債券,並繪製出5年期和10年期的價格曲線。該公司實現了自2020年初以來最大的指導價收窄,終獲得高達8倍的超額認購。

憑藉香港在國際海運業的各種優勢,中船租賃秉承結合金融和海運以服務主要產業的戰略使命,堅持專業化、市場化、國際化的優質發展道路,努力把公司建設成為世界一流的船舶租賃公司。

香港作為全球主要海運中心之一,自然有助中船租賃吸引業務。

公司專注於發展船舶和海洋工程設備租賃業務,與世界各地客戶保持著密切的合作關係,因此認定香港適合其發展全球海運相關業務。

公司最初是被香港高度發展的金融服務所吸引,後來更深感香港的監管環境較內地優秀。

其實,中船租賃也曾考慮包括中國內地各自貿區在內的其他地點,但始終認為香港在基礎設施配套、商業環境、法律環境、專家研究資源和高端人才方面均更為優越。

稅務寛減
與其他在香港開展業務的中國內地公司觀點相同,中船租賃也是利用香港相對有利的融資安排來降低成本,把香港作為結算和金融平台。

香港的低稅率和簡單的稅制對國際投資者非常有吸引力。對於在香港經營船舶租賃的公司來說,在某些情況下,企業所得稅已不復存在。2020年的《稅務條例》修訂,給予船舶出租商利得稅寬免和船舶租賃管理商的利得稅減半優惠 。

香港特區政府通過舉辦「香港海運週」等活動,積極培育海運業生態系統,讓中船租賃深受裨益,因為許多這些由香港投資推廣署贊助的活動均提供了無限商機。推廣署亦持續與中船租賃保持聯繫,分享行業消息和相關政策,以及瞭解他們的看法和公司的最新發展。

從快速發展的市場中獲利
中船租賃現正採取多種措施應對快速變化的海運業,包括越趨嚴格的環保法規和新冠疫情帶來的影響。

在海運和造船業低迷的背景下,中船租賃繼續實施穩定性投資管理措施,為行業各領域的領先合作夥伴提供租賃服務,從而建立長期的戰略合作關係。

2020年初,在新冠肺炎疫情爆發期間,海運業對廉價和環境友好型船舶以及清潔能源設備的需求依然旺盛。與此同時,海運業中多個市場領域也陸續浮現發展前景和機遇。

新冠疫情加快了海運和港口數位化的進程,並為行業提高效率和降低成本提供了基礎。

儘管疫情對行業產生了影響,但也加速了船舶融資數位化發展的進程。海運業未來的結構變化主要受三大因素影響:

一是深入推進數位化,將推動船舶融資、船舶智慧和設備網路化發展。

二是全球貿易流動格局的變化,長程的東西航線增長將會放緩,而區域內航線則增長加快。

最後是綠色低碳的發展趨勢,將促進海運能源、船舶設計和航線網路組織的創新。

中國船舶集團主席雷凡培表示,希望中船租賃借此機會持續創新,以更優異的業績回報投資者的信任和關愛:「首先,我們要繼續推進『產業、金融、科技』的深度融合,推動船舶和離岸產業的發展,為全球客戶提供更優質高效的產品和服務,使公司成為香港一顆耀眼的明星。」

其他閱讀資料
中國船舶.pdf (0.4MB)
(請按此下載Acrobat Reader)